“No Line, No Wait”

Posted on Updated on

By Angel Simmons ©

I remember shopping for one pair of gym shoes for the entire school year. Usually I got another casual pair of shoes, and maybe boots or dress shoes if I had outgrown mine. But this was an annual event. That was my life every August before school started.

I just finished collecting my shoes scattered throughout the house from my last two weeks of events and celebrating my birthday. After returning ten pair of them to their boxes and five to bins under the bed, I counted a total of fifteen pair. This is what I have WORN in a fourteen day span… and the rain boots are still at the front door. I just bought three new pair this Saturday (on clearance, of course) and my “shoe box shelf” is already filled to capacity. Understand this: I’M NOT BRAGGING. I’m simply reflecting on where I came from and grateful for where I am today.

image

How many times have you taken a moment to just thank God for bringing you to a better place in your life? The year is half over! Even if you don’t have more than you did when it began, you KNOW more than you knew. Sure, shoes are such a trivial thing to some people. But as a child, watching my friends with the newest Jordan’s (which to this day, I have never owned) and shoes to match every outfit while my feet hurt because they grew so quickly and I was waiting out the school year- I don’t take the options staring me in the face lightly! When I put on a black dress and have a CHOICE of flats, sandals, pumps, heels or boots, it makes me want to shout GLORY!!!

So, call me petty… But I’m seriously thanking God for my shoes today. I don’t have to wait until next year for a new pair. I have new ones on reserve just waiting for the right day. What do YOU have that used to be a struggle to get? Did you grow up with one good suit? Your “Sunday” dress? Only two ties? Drinking powdered milk or trying to slice “government cheese”? Three books that you read over and over? Waiting for the first of the month to go grocery shopping? Or did you grow up never lacking, or waiting, or struggling, or in want for anything? Either way, I think this is a good time for you to stop and praise Him…

image

July 1, 2014

4 thoughts on ““No Line, No Wait”

    T said:
    July 2, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    This is good!!! I know what you mean…God is Good!

    Andrea said:
    July 29, 2014 at 2:15 am

    I know all too well : ) Not pretty at all. God is good to us…

      Love's Great Design said:
      July 29, 2014 at 2:16 am

      Yes He IS! And I had to do the same “cleanup” again today… touches me every single time.

Leave a Reply

